Mr. Vegas to release 7th album on his birthday, Sep 29

International recording artiste Mr Vegas is in a jubilant mood as he prepares for the release of his upcoming album, ‘Lovers Rock & Soul’. The 11-track album features an eclectic mix of R&B, pop and reggae covers.

Lovers Rock & Soul opens with Vegas’ cover of Ed Sheeran’s Thinking Out Loud.

The versatile entertainer shows off his vocal dexterity and execution throughout the album. He serves up a soul-stirring performance on There’s Nothing Better Than Love, originally done by R&B crooner Luther Vandross and actor Gregory Hines. Vegas and his protégé Natel also deliver their interpretation of the Jon B and Baby Face classic hit, Someone To Love.

The dancehall entertainer stamps his class on every track on the album. His vocals are especially exceptional on songs such as Love Is All Around by We Wet Wet and Time After Time by Cindy Lauper.

Fans of ’80s love songs can look forward to Vegas’ update of British-Irish singer Chris De Burgh’s Lady In Red.

His rendition of Savage Garden’s Truly Madly Deeply and Howard Hewett’s 1996 smash hit Say Amen are also delightful offerings.

Lovers Rock & Soul was co-produced by Vegas and veteran producer-musician Cleveland Brownie of Steely and Clevie fame.

“This is my seventh official album and I wanted it to be special. That’s why I chose to sing these songs. They are all classics and personal favourites of mine.

“I also want this album to stand the test of time and be remembered as one of the great albums in the modern era of reggae,” said Vegas.

Vegas and Brownie selected an all-star cast of musicians for the project which includes Dean Frazer, Danny Browne, Flabba Holt, Donald Dennis, Kirk ‘Kirkle Dove’ Bennett, Wade Johnson, and Aeion Hoilette.

“These musicians did a fantastic job. They bring out the real old school reggae flavour on this project.”

Lovers Rock & Soul will be released on Mr Vegas’ birthday, September 29

Leave a Reply

Notify of