Asafa & Veronica named Jamaica team captains

Former World 100m record holder Asafa Powell and 2-times Olympic 200m champion Veronica Campbell-Brown have been named captains of the Jamaican team at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing.

Powell, who has broken the 10-second barrier a record 88 times, is currently the 4th fastest man in history. He held the 100 metres world record between June 2005 and May 2008, with times of 9.77 and 9.74 seconds respectively and has a personal best of 9.72s.

Campbell-Brown meanwhile is a twice Olympic 200m Champion, World Champion at 100m and 200m and twice at 60m (indoors), as well as numerous victories and medals at World Athletic Finals, Continental Cups.

The former Vere Technical track star is one of a select group of athletes to claim victories in all IAAF events – World Youth, World Junior and World Championships – at 100M.

The 53-member Jamaican team in the meantime is headed by triple Gold medallists from the last IAAF World Championships, Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.

The 27 strong men’s team are: Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, Warren Weir, Nickel Ashmeade, Omar McLeod, Hansle Parchment, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Andrew Riley, Javon Francis, O’Dayne Richards, Kemoy Campbell, Rasheed Dwyer, Julian Forte, Damar Forbes, Annsert Whyte, Leford Green, Roxroy Cato, Fedrick Dacres, Jason Morgan, Chad Wright, Jonia McDonald, Rusheen McDonald, Peter Matthews,

The members of the 26-strong women’s team are: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Novlene Williams-Mills, Kaliese Spencer, Natasha Morrison, Sherone Simpson, Elaine Thompson, Kerron Stewart, Aisha Praught, Salcia Slack, Danielle Thomas, Shanieka Thomas, Danielle Williams, Shermaine Williams, Kimberly Laing, Shericka Jackson, Janieve Russell, Christine Day, Stephenie Ann McPherson, Simoya Campbell, Natoya Goule, Shevon Stoddart, Ristananna Tracey, Kimberly Williams, Anastasia Le-Roy and Chrisann Gordon.

Michael Clarke will be Head Coach while Maurice Wilson will be Technical Leader. Ludlow Watts is the Team Leader while Dave Myrie and Heleen Francis will be Assistants. Team Jamaica will be aiming to match or overhaul the 9 medals won at the 2013 Moscow World Championships or perhaps even surpass the record of 13 medals mined at the 2009 Berlin World Championships.


Leave a Reply

Notify of