Lady Saw drops ‘Alter Ego’ Album

The queen of the dancehall Lady Saw’s 14-track studio album Alter Ego was officially released on Nov 18th 2014 under her very own Diva Records label.

Saw, who teamed up with VP records to distribute the album, is in New York promoting and is also celebrating 25 years in the business. Lady Saw speaks with Music News from the Big Apple.

After announcing in 2012 that she will turn her back on the dancehall business and do Gospel instead, devoted fans expressed their regrets, even though they respected her decision. In part due to their continuous support, Muma Saw herself soon realized that something is missing – her new album is thus not a Gospel Compilation. Alter Ego features collabs with Beres Hammond, Estelle, Ali Campbell of UB40, and Flo-Rida.

Album Tracklist
1. What Kinda Man (feat. Estelle)
2. I Do Love You (feat. Ali Campbell)
3. She Has Changed (feat. Beres Hammond)
4. Std
5. I Hate Your Guts
6. Nuh Yuh Business
7. Whine
8. Pretty Fingers
9. Me & Mi X
10. Heels On (feat. Florida)
11. Cockpit
12. Hoping
13. Selfie
14. Heaven

Get the Album On itunes


The First Lady of Dancehall, Lady Saw is a Jamaican bad girl with loads more attitude and sex appeal than hip-hop mistresses like Lil’ Kim and Foxy Brown, plus one of the most distinguishing images in reggae. Born in 1972 in the small Jamaican village of St. Mary’s, Marion Hall signed to the Jamaican grassroots label VP Records and debuted in 1994 with Lover Girl. Lady Saw soon proved she was up to the challenge of Jamaica’s rudest boys by teaming up with Shabba Ranks on the single “Want It Tonight.” Her second album, Give Me the Reason, was followed by 1997’s Passion, which featured her X-rated vocal swaggering on duets with Shaggy (“Mr. Lover Lover”) and Beenie Man (“Healing”). The album was her most popular, prompting the 1998 release of two greatest-hits packages, Collection and Raw: The Best of Lady Saw. In 2004 she released Strip Tease, then three years later the ambitious Walk Out. In 2010 she formed her own label, Divas Records, which released her album My Way that same year.

Leave a Reply

Notify of