VETERAN reggae group The Heptones to drop their 64th album in May

The VETERAN reggae group The Heptones will be releasing their 64th studio album called Rebel Love in May.

The 10-track album was produced by the group’s leader and founding member Earl Morgan.

“This album will prove that the Heptones is still going strong and we are here to stay. Although all the tracks are authentic reggae, the album appeals to everyone. We are here to show that vintage music can be done and catches the ears of listeners from different age groups,” Morgan told the Sunday Observer.

In addition to the title track, Morgan lists The Speech, God Give It To Me, and All My Love as his favorite.

“We have a huge library of songs, but we put a lot of thought into carefully selecting each track. We just hope that our choices will resonate well with the listeners,” he said.
The Heptones have had several member changes over the years and, in addition to Morgan, the current members are Robert Dacres and Carlton Scarlett.

The Jamaican rocksteady and reggae vocal trio consisting of Leroy Sibbles, Earl Morgan and Barry Llewellyn was most active in the 1960’s and early 1970’s. They were one of the more significant trios of that era, and played a major role in the gradual transition between ska and rocksteady into reggae with their three-part harmonies.

Among their first set of hits were Fattie Fattie on Sir Coxone’s StudioOne Label in 1966. They went on to record other hits singles for Coxone including Pretty Looks Isn’t All, Get In The Groove, Be a Man and

Sea of Love (a cover of the Phil Phillips and the Twilights doo-wop classic). They later went on to record for Joe Gibbs and Harry J in the early 1970’s and had a big hit with Book of Rules.

“Like any otherlong- standing group, we have changed members but we are to stay. The Heptones name and brand will continue to live and I will ensure that it does as long as I live,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Notify of